

SOUTH EAST EUROPE INVESTMENT COMMITTEE RULES OF PROCEDURE

Sarajevo, April 2012

RCC South East Europe Investment Committee

Rules of Procedure

The Regional Cooperation Council South East Europe Investment Committee (hereinafter referred to as SEEIC),

having regard to the Investment Compact for South East Europe Ministerial Statement from 27 June 2006 in Vienna on the establishment of the South East Europe Investment Committee and the Decision of the 6th Meeting of the South East Europe Investment Committee from 16 November 2009 in Paris on the transfer of SEEIC to the Regional Cooperation Council Secretariat,

hereby adopts the following Rules of Procedure:

Role and Composition of the SEEIC

- 1. The SEEIC promotes and facilitates regional cooperation in the sphere of investment-related reform and competitiveness in South East Europe.
- 2. The SEEIC consists of the appointed high-level officials at the level of Deputy Minister or State Secretary from the respective ministries from South East Europe (hereinafter: Country Economic Team Leader or CET Leader), and a representative of the RCC Secretariat. The representatives of the private sector from South East Europe, international organizations and the donor community will be invited to the SEEIC meetings and act as observers, providing input and advice to the SEEIC.
- 3. Delegations of the SEEIC members are headed by the CET Leader. The delegations are not limited in number.
- 4. In exceptional cases when the CET Leader is not able to attend the meeting, the CET Leader will ensure that he or she is replaced by an alternate authorised to represent the respective institution and make decisions at the meeting.
- 5. SEEIC will be open to new members from the region of South East Europe. Potential members shall apply to the SEEIC in writing, and the membership application shall be decided by consensus.

Representation and Structures

- 6. SEEIC will be Co-chaired by the Regional Cooperation Council Secretariat as a permanent Co-chair, and one member of the SEEIC on a rotating basis.
- 7. Co-chairs will convene, conduct and conclude SEEIC meetings and draft pertaining agendas.
- 8. The SEEIC may be represented by the Co-chairs and/or a member of the SEEIC with a specific mandate bestowed by the Co-chairs.
- 9. The mandate of the rotating Co-chair shall be for a term of one year, with the possibility of extension for an additional year.
- 10. Responsibilities of either of the Co-chairs of the SEEIC may be delegated to the other Co-chair.

Frequency of Meetings

- 11. The SEEIC shall meet at least twice per year.
- 12. In addition to the two regular meetings, the SEEIC will meet in a Ministerial format at least once per year.
- 13. Co-chairs of the SEEIC may convene a special meeting if it is proposed in writing by one of the SEEIC members, at least 15 days prior to the date of proposed meeting.
- 14. Working groups of the SEEIC and their structures shall be established by SEEIC with specific mandates.
- 15. Working groups shall carry out tasks defined by SEEIC, draw up cooperation schemes, and consider possibilities of implementing joint projects in their respective areas of activity.

Venue of Meetings

- 16. Meetings of the SEEIC shall be held at the seat of the RCC Secretariat, unless decided otherwise by the SEEIC.
- 17. Ministerial meeting of the SEEIC shall be convened in the capitol of the SEEIC member co-chairing the SEEIC at the time the Ministerial conference is organized, unless decided otherwise by the SEEIC.
- 18. Location of working group meetings shall be determined for each meeting individually based on specific logistical and/or subject matter considerations.

Convening Meetings

- 19. Meetings of the SEEIC are convened in writing by the RCC Secretariat as the Co-chair of the SEEIC.
- 20. The SEEIC Secretariat shall, in agreement with the other Co-chair of the SEEIC, notify the date and propose the draft agenda of meetings as well as related documents to each member of SEEIC, not later than 15 calendar days prior to each meeting.

Working Procedures

- 21. The meetings of the SEEIC are chaired by the Co-chairs of the SEEIC.
- 22. Correspondence to the SEEIC shall be circulated through the RCC Secretariat in written/electronic form.
- 23. English shall be both the official and working language of the SEEIC.

Adoption of Decisions and Recommendations

24. Decisions of the SEEIC will be taken by consensus, which is understood as absence of objection. Decisions and recommendations of the SEEIC shall take effect upon adoption by representatives of the members. Decisions or recommendations shall be delivered to each member in writing through the RCC Secretariat.

Written Procedure

25. In exceptional cases when a decision or a recommendation is considered urgent and it proves impossible to convene a timely meeting, the SEEIC shall use a written procedure. The interested member(s) shall present proposals in this respect to the Co-chair(s) of the

SEEIC and to the other members of the SEEIC through the RCC secretariat, allowing SEEIC members 15 calendar days to react.

Minutes of Meetings

26. Draft minutes, drafted by the RCC Secretariat, will be circulated for comments within 7 calendar days of each meeting, following which the RCC Secretariat will issue a final version.

Financial Management and Reporting

- 27. All the financial actions and reporting shall be made in compliance with the statutory documents and procedures of the RCC Secretariat.
- 28. The RCC Secretariat is responsible for the timely preparation and submission of the financial and other reports in accordance with the obligations undertaken by the specific projects and programmes.

Amendments

29. Rules of Procedure may be amended, based on consensus of SEEIC members.